The Dynamics of Change

A joint event DFG-Network »Change and Change-Makers« and CPT, Dep. of Philosophy “Piero Martinetti”, University of Milan
Sala Napoleonica, Sala Napoleonica of the Università Degli Studi di Milano, Via Sant’Antonio, 12, Milano


Monday, March, 18

10:30-10:45 Florian Fischer & Giuliano Torrengo: Introduction

10:45-11:45 John Pemberton (Durham): Changing

12:00-13:00 Sonja Deppe (Erlangen): tba

13:00-14:30 Lunch break

14:30-15:30 Florian Fischer (Siegen): The Dynamic Foundation of the World

15:45-16:45 Martin A. Lipman (Leiden): tba

17:00-18:00 Giuliano Torrengo (Milano): What is it for Time to Pass?

19:30 Dinner

Tuesday, March, 19

11:00-12:00 Alison Fernandes (Dublin): Two Projects on the Direction of Time

12:15-13:15 Vincent Grandjean (Oxford): Diachronic Indeterminacy

13:15-14:30 Lunch break

14:30-15:30 Cristian Mariani (Lugano): tba

15:45-16:45 Federico Viglione (Barcelona): tba

17:00-18:00 Tim Maudlin (New York): Fundamental Dynamics for Quantum Theory: How to Get Wave Equations

Drinks & Cocktail Metaphysics in Practice

Organiser:  Florian Fischer, Vivien Grabowski, Giuliano Torrengo

For more information:


The Dynamic World

Aula 402, Department of Philosophy, University of Milan

25 and 26 May 2023

David Ingram (York) and Jonathan Tallant (Nottingham)

Daniel Deasy (University College Dublin)

Catharine Diehl (Leiden)

Donatella Donati (L’Aquila) and Simone Gozzano (L’Aquila)

Yazan Freij (Milan) 

Lisa Leininger (HWS)

Giuliano Torrengo (Milan, UAB) and Samuele Iaquinto (University of Western Piedmont)

General commentators: Elisa Paganini (Milan), Cristian Mariani (USI, Lugano), Giuseppe Spolaore (Padova), Emanuele Tullio (CEU, Vienna), Alessandro Zucchi (Milano)

Organisers: Giuliano Torrengo and Dave Ingram

The Foundations of Time

A joint event CPT – Doctoral School in Philosophy and the Human Sciences, University of Milan

January 28, 2020
Department of Philosophy, University of Milan, Via Festa del Perdono 7, Milan


Claudio Calosi & Samuele Iaquinto

Matthew Soteriou

Jonathan Tallant

Jessica Wilson



Davide Bordini

Florian Fisher

Giuseppe Spolaore

Organisers: Clotilde Calabi, Andrea Borghini, Andrea Guardo, Giuliano Torrengo and Nick Young

International Symposium
‘Thinking In and About Time: A Dual Systems Perspective on Temporal Cognition’

April 11-12, 2019
Department of Philosophy, University of Milan, Via Festa del Perdono 7, Milan


Teresa McCormack

Christoph Hoerl

Ted Hunt

Julian Bacharach

Simon Brown

Gerardo Viera

Nathalia de Ávila

Daniele Cassaghi

Organisation: Centre for Philosophy of Time and NeurophilosophyLab, University of Milan

CUNY-Milan Annual Interdisciplinary Workshop in Philosophy

March 28-29, 2019
University of Milan

CUNY-Milan annual interdisciplinary workshop in Philosophy, a joint initiative of both institutions’ philosophy departments, and, more precisely, CUNY Graduate Center and Doctoral School in Philosophy and Human Sciences, University of Milan is aimed at promoting advanced studies at the crossroad between philosophy and interrelated disciplines. Last year workshop took place in NYC at CUNY Graduate Center with the topic of Belief. This years’ workshop, second in a series of annual events, will focus on Tense and is taking place in Milan. The organizers are committed to maintain the interdisciplinary character of the workshop. 

This year keynote speakers will be:

University of MilanAlessandro Zucchi and Giuseppe Spolaore (linguistics), Daniel Dohrn (philosophy of language and metaphysics) and Corrado Sinigaglia (cognitive neuroscience).

CUNY Graduate CenterGraham Priest (logic and language), Catherine Wilson (history of philosophy) and David Papineau (philosophy of mind).

Organizing Committee:
Milan – Daria Vitasovic, Victor Carranza, Sava Ristić, Luca Marchetti.
CUNY Graduate Center – Vincent A. Peluce, Yale Weiss, Jennifer McDonald, Liam Ryan (Saul Kripke Center).

Everyone is welcome, but please do register for the workshop since places are limited.

E-mail for registration: daria dot vitasovic at unimi dot it.

Funding: Doctoral School in Philosophy and Human Sciences.


Society for the Metaphysics of Science
5th Annual Conference

November 7-9, 2019
University of Toronto

The Society for the Metaphysics of Science (SMS) will be holding its fifth annual conference on November 7-9, 2019 at the University of Toronto.

Our keynote speaker will be Katherine Brading (Duke University).

In addition, Max Kistler (Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne) will deliver a presidential address.

All other sessions will comprise submitted papers.

As well as various presentations, the conference will also feature an organizational meeting of the Society which will elect officers, continue to make various policies, plan future conferences, etc. Both those interested in presenting papers and/or participating in the Society are invited to the conference.

At the conference, presentations will be 30 minutes, with a 10 minute commentary, 5 minute reply, and 15 minute Q&A. Submissions should be on a topic in the metaphysics of science broadly construed, of no more than 4,500 words, and should include an abstract of ~150 words and a word count. All papers must employ gender-neutral language and be prepared for blind review.

At most one contributed paper on which you are the presenting author can be submitted. No one will be permitted to present more than once at SMS 2019. A scholar may appear as co-author on more than one paper or symposium talk, but may present at SMS 2019 only once.

Submissions must be made using the EasyChair online submission system at

The submission deadline is 1 June 2019. Notifications of acceptance will be delivered by 1 August 2019. Selected speakers should confirm their participation before 5 September 2019.

Early registration fees (before 10 October 2019):
Faculty: $75
Post-doc: $50
Students and Emeritus faculty: $10

Late registration fees (after 10 October 2019):
Faculty: $125
Post-doc: $75
Students and Emeritus faculty: $15

The Society would like to thank Victoria College and the Department of Philosophy at the University of Toronto for support.

Program Committee:

Giuliano Torrengo (Milan), Chair

Elena Casetta (Torino)
Natalja Deng (Seoul)
Lucas Dunlap (Cincinnati)
Elselijn Kingma (Southampton)
Francesco Guala (Milan)
Marco Nathan (Denver)
Jonathan Schaffer (Rutgers)
Alex Skiles (MIT)
Tzuchien Tho (Bristol)
Neil E. Williams (Buffalo)

Local Arrangements Co-chairs:
Jessica Wilson (Toronto)
Michael Miller (Toronto)
Assistant to the co-chairs: Marissa Bennett (Toronto)

More info at:

Sixth IAPT Meeting

June 24-26, 2019
Boulder, Colorado, USA

The International Association for Philosophy of Time is pleased to announce its 6th annual conference. It will be hosted by the Committee on the History and Philosophy of Science at the University of Colorado, in Boulder, Colorado (USA), from 24th-26th June, 2019 (arrival Sunday 23rd, departure Thursday 27th). The local organizer is Heather Demarest and the program committee is chaired by David Ingram. More information available here.

Past, Present & Future

April 8, 2019

, Università di Urbino ‘Carlo Bo’
Dipartimento di Scienze Pure e Applicate
Palazzo Albani, Via Timoteo Viti 10, 61029, 
Urbino, Italy


Claudio Calosi

Damiano Costa

Donatella Donati

Samuele Iaquinto

Giuliano Torrengo


Organisers: Alberto Corti, Vincenzo Fano, Pierluigi Graziani, and Gino Tarozzi

Past Workshops

Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fonire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o clicchi su "Accetta" permetti al loro utilizzo.